everything food, produce and oom-nom-nom-nom related!

his and her royal highnii

Leave a comment

Twenty years of friendship. Eleven years of marriage. Two continents, two kids, a home. And a celebration worthy of royalty.

20131231-181955.jpg
It was with glee that I realised we were about to spend a night at the extremely gorgeous Falaknuma Palace in Hyderabad. From the moment we stepped foot into the grounds we were treated as guests of the Nizam and lavished upon the same royal treatment that all visitors to the palace receive.
20131231-182126.jpg
Who was I to complain as waiters walked towards me with red roses wishing me happy anniversary Mrs. Foodie. Who was I to complain when we were whisked away to the Princess’ Gossip Chamber with a Chinese Whisper couch and made to cut a divine chocolate nut cake? And I certainly didn’t complain when red rose petals fluttered gently down from the terrace as we walked up the grand marble stairs.

Ah royalty. How easily I could get used to thee. I assure you it is not difficult to function when the palace butler assigned to you previously served Princess Esra. It is quite easy to enjoy the delectable chocolates laid out on your pillow, as it is to step under a rainwater head shower in an all marble bathroom for for a king.

20131231-182457.jpg
I am not one to usually stamp my feet and complain but Mr. Foodie “wanted a la carte only” on a buffet night and what the maharaja wants, the maharaja gets.

The food was exquisite, the bread we were served was to die for. And let’s not even start on dessert or the special cake that was sent up to the room while we dined on the balcony, 2000 feet above sea level, overlooking the softly twinkling lights of Hyderabad.

20131231-182614.jpg

20131231-182640.jpg

But more than anything we have never ever experienced hospitality and attention to detail like at Falaknuma. They had even changed the linen to satin sheets before we returned to our room. With embroidered Good Night foot mats and fluffy blue slippers by the bed!

Ah royalty. How easy on the senses you are. How magnificent. How indulgent. How over the top. How delicate, how in-your-face. How simple, how easy, yet how contradictory. But for tonight I will only dwell on the goodness.

As I get into my horse drawn carriage for the last time I bid you all adieu and hope you may all experience one night of luxury like we did. Feel free to shower me with rose petals as I leave.

His & Her Royal Highnii! Dee & K x

20131231-182818.jpg

20131231-182748.jpg

Leave a Reply

